top of page

Cronenwett Hits Flat Rock Trifecta

Special from Flat Rock Speedway: Flat Rock, MI (August 14, 2021) - When you’re hot, you’re hot…and Steve Cronenwett Jr. is hot. Steve collected his third win in a row, grabbing the win in the 50 lap ARCA Late Model Outlaw Super Late Model feature at Flat Rock Speedway Saturday night. A good crowd turned out on a picture-perfect Kid’s Night. Kids to age 12 were admitted free and received a free hot dog and soft drink, courtesy of Pepsi and Schwebel Baking Company. Race fans Max and Karen Scott presented the trophies to the winners in the Monroe Asphalt Winner’s Circle.

Greg Studt padded his point lead with a win in the ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main, Rob Randa took the Street Stock B Main and Billy Earley notched another victory in the ARCA Figure 8 feature.

The ARCA Moran Chevrolet 50 lap Outlaw Super Late Model feature started out as a replay of the week before, as the 3-car inversion put Harold Fair Jr. on the pole. Fair took off on the start, with fast qualifier Cronenwett Jr. (11:844) jumping into second and on the mission to track down the leader. Steve went to the top groove and got door to door with Fair Jr. at lap 15. A quick yellow for a spin bunched things up, and Cronenwett went to work, nosing out front. A determined Fair battled back on the low side as the duo stayed side by side. On lap 28, Fair looped his #71 down the backstraight, bringing out the yellow flag. Steve again grabbed the lead, but his challenge this time was from Eric Lee. A lap 29 incident brought out the red flag when Chris Benson and Frank Jiovani made contact. Benson clipped Joe Hawes as he spun, sending Hawes into the turn 4 wall. Jiovani’s machine shot up the track and tagged the wall and Derrick Sheppard collided with Frank’s stopped car, causing heavy damage to those cars. All 4 drivers were done for the night. Lee applied the pressure when the race resumed but the #21 of Cronenwett sped on to the victory. Lee, the current point leader, collected second, Conner Zbozien was third, Paul Pelletier fourth and Fair Jr. came back to grab fifth. Stan Yee Jr., Dennis Rederstorf, Bryan Moore, Justin Schroeder, Benson, Jiovani, Sheppard, Hawes and George Rangel completed the finishing order. Hawes and Schroeder took the heat race wins.

Fast qualifier Rob Moore Jr. (13:393) rolled a 3 for the inversion, putting Greg Studt on the pole for the 25 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main. Studt, looking to capture another track championship, took off, held back several challenges and scored the victory. David Liaeff was attached to Studt’s bumper for the final 5 laps but settled for second, rookie Lance Lipasek returned to action and took third, Moore Jr. was fourth and Jeremy Vanderhoof fifth, followed by Jeff Metdepenningen, Max Fair, Nick Shanks, Trevor Farmer and Landon Schuster.

Rob Randa, beset by mechanical issues several times this season, had to tag on to the tail of the 15 lap Street Stock B Main. Rich Abel and L.J. Farmer both led the event until Randa slid by on lap 11 to take the number one spot and the win. A late-race charge by Taylor Papineau netted him second, Farmer was third, Abel fourth and current B Main point leader and rookie Robert Stewart was fifth. Joe Rozek, Justin Peterman and Mike Miller were next in the finishing order. B Main fast qualifier was Papineau at 14:118.

Billy Earley took control at the green, stayed in command and notched the win in the 20 lap ARCA Figure 8 feature. While Earley kept a solid lead, the great battle between point leader Dennis Whisman Jr. and Jeremy Vanderhoof went back and forth the entire distance, providing great racing action and entertainment for the appreciative crowd. Whisman was able to take second at the stripe, Vanderhoof was third, Jakob Lee fourth and Brice Thomsen fifth, followed by Eugene Worden, John Lambert, Ethen Lambert, Dave Lambert, Stephanie Bradley and Carole Asztalos. Earley’s fast time lap was 20:874. Vanderhoof and Ethen Lambert took the heat wins.

The final point race of the season happens Saturday, August 21 as Harris Mechanical presents the Season Championships! All 3 classes will crown their track champions at Flat Rock Speedway, making for great anticipation, action, nerves and excitement for crews, drivers, families and fans!

The ARCA Moran Chevrolet Outlaw Super Late Model battle has Eric Lee with a 45 point edge over Steve Cronenwett and 65 over Justin Schroeder. Greg Studt’s lead stands at 90 markers over Jeff Metdepennigen and 95 over Nick Shanks in the ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main points, while rookie Robert Stewart has an 80 point lead over Mike Miller for the Street Stock B Main crown. Dennis Whisman Jr. is 70 up on Jakob Lee for the Figure 8 title as the point season wraps up at Flat Rock.

There is no advance ticket sale for this race. ALL tickets go on sale at 4:30 p.m. Saturday at the track when the ticket office and gate open. The pit gates for race cars opens at 2:30, front gates at 4:30, race car practice at 4:30 and racing starts at 7 p.m.

bottom of page