top of page

Former Winners Needles, Strickland Lead Early Entries for Clean Harbors/Safety-Kleen Glass City 200

Special from Toledo Speedway - September 6, 2022: 2020 race winner Steve Needles and 2013 winner Dennis Strickland are among the early entries for the Outlaw Late Model portion of the Clean Harbors/Safety-Kleen Glass City 200 set for Saturday, September 17. The prestigious race is presented by Miller Lite, DTS Drive Train Specialists, the Hampton Inn and Courtyard by Marriott.

A pair of 100 lap races will make up the 200 laps of racing. The ARCA/CRA Super Series Powered by JEGS stock-bodied Late Models and the Outlaw-bodied Super Late Models hit the track in separate 100 lap feature races, which is the format for the track’s signature event since 2017.

Needles has momentum on his side, with his big win at Plymouth, IN Speedway’s Grand Slam event last weekend. Steve erased several years of very tough luck at Toledo in the race, as he scored the win in the 100 lap event in 2020. Strickland, a 4-time Toledo track champion and the upset winner of the 2013 race (which was 200 laps), will look to add to his win total at the big ½ mile paved oval.

Early entries have also been received from Toledo resident Nick Bailey, Grand Rapids, MI racer Mike Root, a pair of cars fielded by Blount Motorsports, with the drivers to be announced; Onsted, MI driver Dean Gassert, Michigan residents Conner Zbozien and Chris Benson and veteran Indiana speedster Scott Hantz. The early entry list for the ARCA/CRA Super Series is expected later this week.

The Clean Harbor/Safety Kleen staff will have a tent in the spectator concourse on race day, where fans can sign up to be in the drawing for a NASCAR Driving Experience, and select the track for this bucket-list item! A pair of Thad Moffit diecast cars will also be given away September 17. The drawings will be held at the break between the 2-100 lap contests.

Additional sponsors of the Glass City 200 include R & M Recycling, Sunoco Race Fuels and Bazell Race Fuels.

The defending race winners are Cayden Lapcevich for the Outlaw Super Late Models and Blake Rowe for the ARCA/CRA Super Series Late Models.

Each event will pay $5000 to the winner and $750 to start, with bonus money available for each division of cars. Lap money at $5 per lap is being sold, with the leader of each of the 200 laps of racing collecting the bonus. To become a lap sponsor, call 419-727-1100.

In addition to the lap money, the Outlaw Super Late Model 100 will see a $300 bonus posted for fast time, courtesy of Larry Varney and LV Alliance. Fastime Racing Engines and Parts has posted a $200 bonus for the Hard Charger Award (Most Improved Position), while Penske Shocks will award a $200 product certificate to the winner and $100 to the 5th place finisher. DTS Drive Train Specialists will dole out five (5) $50 product certificates in a random draw at the Driver’s meeting.

Tickets are now on sale by calling the track at 419-727-1100 or online at Add $1 per ticket for online purchases.

The Saturday, September 17 schedule has practice beginning at Noon, with each group getting 1 hour of practice, split into 30-minute sessions. Qualifying begins at 2:30, an on-track autograph session is planned for 4 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m. A rain date of Sunday, September 18 at 1 p.m. has been established if needed.

bottom of page