top of page

Glass City 200 Survives Pandemic Restrictions

Toledo, OH (Wednesday, September 16, 2020) - 30 days ago, Toledo Speedway officials were preparing to announce that the 2020 race season was going to be cancelled. A few days later, the State of Ohio released a Director’s Order to allow speedways to open with restrictions. Scrambling to put a late-season schedule together, officials were able to save the 32nd Running of the Central Transport Glass City 200. This Saturday, the ARCA/CRA Super Series joins the ARCA Outlaw Super Late Models for a pair of 100 lap feature events at the high banked ½-mile oval.

With entry lists being finalized, the prestigious event has the makings of another “can’t miss” Glass City 200. 22 Outlaw Super Late Models are currently registered, with some of the best in the region throwing their hat in the ring. Former Glass City 200 champions Dennis Strickland (2013), JR Roahrig (2015/2017), and last year’s winner, Cayden Lapcevich are entered. In addition, three former ARCA Gold Cup Series Champions, Steve Needles, Brian Bergakker, and Frank Jiovani have confirmed, and are looking for their first Glass City 200 trophy. Scott Hantz, the all-time career wins leader in the ARCA/CRA Super Series, is making a rare appearance in an Outlaw, as a teammate to Jiovani. Kyle Crump, who picked up a huge win last season at the Kalamazoo Klash, former Flat Rock Speedway Late Model Champion Steve Cronenwett Jr., and last season’s Kalamazoo Speedway Outlaw Late Model Champion Adam Terry have also confirmed their entries.

As for the ARCA/CRA Super Series, former champions highlight their entry list. Travis Braden, the former Winchester 400 champion, defending Snowball Derby winner, and two-time JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour champion is entered and looking for his first Glass City 200 win. Other former ARCA/CRA Super Series champions Greg Van Alst (2019), Josh Brock (2018), Logan Runyon (2017), and Cody Coughlin (2016) are also entered. Two-time Glass City 200 champion Harold Fair Jr is looking for his first event win in a template late model, as are Hunter Jack, Hayden Sprague, Michael Simko, and Jeff Vrsek. Lapcevich and Bergakker will both be attempting to sweep the Glass City 200, pulling double-duty in the Outlaw and Template Late Model. The Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Models will also be in action.

Tickets are currently only available at and are $25 each. Any remaining tickets of the 1,500 approved by the Lucas County Health Department will go on sale on race day at 2:00 pm. Practice begins at Noon on Saturday, and fans are permitted. Spectators will need to leave the grandstand area prior to the gates opening at 3:00 pm. Qualifying goes off at 3:30, with the first green flag at 5:00 pm. Please keep in mind mask/social distancing restrictions are in place for the event, and more information can be found on the website.

For more stories like this and continued updates on tracks plan through COVID-19, visit Tune in to the weekly podcast premiering every Monday evening or listen anytime on-demand. Follow Horsepower Happenings on Facebook and on Twitter @HPHpodcast.

Story by - Rich Frantz, Horsepower Happenings

Photo - Rand Thompson

bottom of page