top of page

Hall of Fame Class Awaits Induction

Harrison Township, MI (Wednesday, November 18, 2020) - The Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame (MMHoF) announced their upcoming Hall of Fame Class earlier this year. Unfortunately, due to gathering restrictions pertaining to the ongoing pandemic, the induction ceremony that was scheduled for this month was cancelled. The Board of Directors voted to honor and celebrate the accomplishments of this year’s class, at the 2021 Induction Ceremony next November. Even though we can’t honor this deserving group in 2020, the following is a list of this year’s inductees:

Scott Diehl, Fenton, MI - for his accomplishments as a mechanic and car chief not only in the short track world but on the high banks of NASCAR and the Sprint Cup division for drivers such as Tim Fedewa, Jeff Burton, and Tony Stewart.

Rusty Daggett, Clio, MI - for his lifelong involvement and interest in Auto Racing and just recently retired from the Auto City Speedway after 50 years of service to the track as flagman.

John Bugenski, Clawson, MI - was a partner and crew chief to 2002 MMSHoF Inductee Bob Seibert who, as a team, was a multi-time NHRA National Event winner in a variety of vehicles ranging from Gassers to Pro Stock to Modified.

Arlen Fadely - partnered with John Bugenski on a Competition Eliminator Dragster for a time and is a former NHRA Division III Modified Champion and holder of 22 NHRA and IHRA Drag Racing national records. After racing, Fadely managed Oldsmobile’s IRL, IMSA, SCCA, NASCAR, and NHRA Promotions.

Danny Kellermeyer, Hanover, MI - Involved in Drag Racing in the late ’60s, and later moving to stock cars, but more notably for racing Corvettes or being involved in Corvette racing. From 1989 until the present day, Danny has been building and racing competitive Corvettes for SCCA that have competed in the SCCA Regionals, Nationals, and the Rolex 24.

Dana Wiltse - Could always be found on the back of a snowmobile rocketing around the tracks starting at the age of 12. He is an accomplished snowmobile racer from the SOO I-500 and is active in the snowmobile community having served on the MISA, MIRA, and the Snowmobile Advisory Committee.

Dick Crup - Bought his first race car at the age of 18 in 1957 and his first race was at the Butler Motor Speedway. Dick raced all over the region with success at tracks like Butler, Manchester, Angola, Spartan, and Jackson to name a few. He has raced against and beat many of the best of the day and has driven and won in open-wheel modifieds, and late models on dirt and pavement.

Chet Miller - Was born in Detroit in 1902 and ran his first race in 1924. He went to Indianapolis in 1928 with a Miller 91. Chet made 19 attempts at the glory of the big race with his best finish in 1938, a third-place finish. Sadly, He lost his life at Indianapolis in 1953 when a crash in practice claimed his life.

Ron Allen, Lincoln Park, MI - He is a multi-time Sportsman champion at the lightning-fast Toledo Speedway with 8 championships in the division, as well as a pair of Flat Rock Street Stock championships and a Late Model Championship at Toledo. Ron has accumulated 138 feature wins in his stellar career.

Eldon Schrader – A standout in the modifieds at Berlin back in the mid-’60s. Eldon raced at nearly 30 speedways all over the tri-state area as well as the famed classic at Oswego, New York over his career and was always known as a fast runner. He completed his career in 1984.

Brett Mann - Had a highly successful career in Michigan Sprint Car Racing with six championships and over 80 feature wins, and sits fifth for all-time feature wins in the S.O.D. Sprint Car Series.

Year after year, the MMHoF Board of Directors select the best of the best that have made their mark in motorsports from the State of Michigan. This year’s class is no exception. We congratulate them and look forward to seeing this group honored in 2021.

For more stories from around the region, be sure to log onto Listen to on-demand episodes of the Horsepower Happenings Podcast, with new episodes every Monday night at 9:00 pm.

Story - Rich Frantz, Horsepower Happenings

Historic Reference - MMHoF

Photo - MMHoF



bottom of page