top of page

Obrinske and Leeck Headline Old Glory Freedom Celebration

Springport, MI (Saturday, July 3, 2021) - For the fifth straight year, Springport Mid-Michigan Speedway was the place to be on Fourth of the July holiday weekend for great racing action. With north of 140 cars jam packed into the pit area, the stars were aligned for a classic night of racing.

Over 50 Port Stocks piled in for 3 feature events to be ran, the first up being the C Feature. 13 year old Katelyn Davis would take her first ever checkered flag in a hard fought race that saw the lead exchanged amongst several different drivers. Tyler Rork was second, with Brittany Booth, Gracelynn Mayhew and Jeff Odette completing the top five. The B Feature came next with a hefty purse on the line. In an attrition filled race, slowed by 4 cautions in 20 laps, Josh Sattler would take his first trip to Springport Victory Lane. Ashley Walters had an impressive second place run with Brian Barden, Dan Shelts, and Mike Rose closing out the top five. The A Feature was a driving showcase with two drivers again setting themselves apart with their spectacular traffic negotiating. After Eric Bennett held the point for the majority of the race, but an untimely caution would close up the gap, allowing Ryan Hollister and Ryan Kinsey, who both started deep in the field, to erase their deficit to the leader. Once the green flag flew, it would be Hollister and Kinsey sneaking by as they drove off to another 1-2 finish. Dave Leonard Jr. was third, with RYan Osborne fourth, and Bennett hanging on for fifth. Hollister set the mark in qualifying with a 17.762.

34 Dragon Racing Fuel Street Stocks would make the trek, allowing for two feature events to be ran. The B feature would be first up and would see the opening portion of the race be a tremendous battle between Rob Sullivan and Elliott Castle. The two drivers would duke it out for numerous laps, before a new player entered into the battle in Aaron Newman. Newman would then overcome the two front runners to win in a close fought battle. It was an emotional victory for Newman, who had cut his racing career short to join the Navy before coming home to resume his racing career. Sullivan and Castle completed the podium positions. Dustin Uminn and Ryan Westfall completed the top five. The A Feature was a very physical race, with cars stacking up even before the green flag flew for the first time. The highlight of the event was an intense battle between Brock Ganus and Defending Champion Jerry Pierman. Although a lapped car would stymie the battle at one point, the two drivers would carry on to the finish with Ganus taking his second win of the season. Pierman was second, ending a streak of five straight wins. Shawn Amor was third, with Buddy Head and Gabe Carr completing the top five. Ganus was fast qualifier with a 16.845.

The Old Glory 50 for the NAPA Outlaw Super Late Models was next, the second big Outlaw Super Late Model race of the weekend, after the Wild Child 100 the prior night at Corrigan Oil Speedway with a smattering of drivers attempting to compete in both events. The star of the show would be two-time JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Champion Dan Leeck. The Birch Run, Michigan pilot would have to old off a hungry veteran in Jack Landis, who for the second straight night had to drive from deep in the field to get up to second position. Unfortunately for the second straight night Landis would have to settle for being the bridesmaid as he came home second to Leeck. Matt Frazier continued his amazing run of consistency to come home third with Mark Shook and Defending Track Champion Jeff Ganus completed the top five. Brian Bergakker was quickest in qualifying at a 15.145.

The main event of the evening was the 2nd running of the Lloyd Gearhart Memorial featuring the Modifieds powered by NOS Energy. Over 40 of the open wheeled warriors showed up for the high sought after purse. The B Feature would see Bud Adams taking the win after missing the cut for the A feature by just .003 seconds, while disappointed to miss the cut, he was still happy for the strong battle over 2017 Owosso Speedway Champion Nick Lechota. Greg Fullerton, Steve Bacon, and Lyn Hall would complete the top five. The man event would be a litany of top stars in Modified racing, the Walt Obrinske Jr. having the most on the line. The multi-time Track Champion would be eligible for a $1,000 bonus from Corrigan Oil Speedway and the Midwest Modified Tour for winning the Wild Child 75 the previous night. Obrinske would take the challenge and rise to the occasion, winning his second feature in as many nights, and coming out of the weekend $7,000 richer. Fort Wayne, Indiana driver Matt Dimit was second with Trevor Berry, Chad Poorman, and Brian Nester finishing out the top five positions. Jeff Ganus was fastest in qualifying with a 15.528.

The 2021 Season rolls on for Springport Mid-Michigan Speedway with the second Autograph Night of the season, headlined by the Modifieds powered by NOS Energy. The AutoLab Late Model Sportsman division will make their return, with the Dragon Racing Fuel Street Stocks, Port Stocks, and Riverside Gear/T&N Dairy Kreme Mini Wedges making their debut on the newly reconfigured circuit. That will be this Saturday, July 10.

Story - Chris Fobbe, Horsepower Happenings

Photo - Dan Leeck Facebook

bottom of page