top of page

Owosso Speedway Results; Childers Puts the First Jewel in the Quad Crown

Ovid, MI - For the first of four times in 2023 the Outlaw Super Late Models were on the itinerary with the Reveal the Hammer series. The Michigan Kenworth Quad Crown Series, a mini-series within the Reveal the Hammer tour at the Owosso Speedway has four races each paying $10,000 to win, with another $10,000 going to the Champion of the four race series.

The first event of the night was the M&K Truck Center Pure Stocks going 25 laps. Lonnie Saumier would continue his undefeated streak, picking up his fourth straight feature win. But it was far from a certainty until the very end of the event. Landon Hidy looked to pick up the upset victory in his very first outing in a brand new car, and looked well on his way. Hidy would have a slight stutter step while dispatching a lapped car, which allowed Saumier to close the gap, and then the four-time Track Champion would wrestle the lead away, taking victory over the Grand Ledge, Michigan driver. Hunter Doutre would come home third over Jake Pearson and Jason Spencer. Heat races were picked up by Jeff Titmus and Jim Miller Jr., while Pearson set quick time for the day with a near record lap of 18.169.

The Reefer Peterbilt All-American Trucks would see a season high 16 trucksters line up for the main event. Zane Cruz, who had missed qualifying and heat race action due to competing in a basketball tournament in Traverse City, lined up dead last in the field. Cruz would pass every truck on the track as he doggedly made his drive to the front. Leaving no doubt as to who would be the hard charger, Cruz climbed to the take the victory, his fourth in the Truck and sixth of the season at Owosso. Anthony Duvernois and Anthony Hart claimed heat race honors, with Ryan Cords hitting the mark in qualifying with a 19.129.

The Main Event of the night was the Michigan Kenworth Quad Crown running 100 laps. 30 of the Outlaw Super Late Models would show up to Owosso Speedway looking to cash in on the $10,000 grand prize, more than any Outlaw Super Late Model event in the state in 2023. Matt Frazier and Austin Fredwall would lead the field down to the start for the century grind. Fredwall would have a career performance in the early running of this race. He would lead several of the early laps and go toe-to-toe with some of the all-time greats in Outlaw Super Late Model racing. Fredwall and Angola, Indiana’s Scott Hantz would trade the lead back and forth several times. As the race would grind on, Flint, Michigan driver Blake Childers would take over the lead. The closing stages of the race would see Childers have his hands full with Phil Bozell. The Portage, Michigan driver would reach deep into his bag of tricks, but would run out of laps as Childers took the victory, Bozell was second with Brian Bergakker, Harold Fair Jr., and Scott Hantz completing the top five. In qualifying Brian Bergakker would topple the near 30 year old track record previously held by Michigan Motorsports Hall of Famer Tim Felver, turning a 14.078 to etch his name into the record books.

To close out the night would be the MacAllister Rentals Sport Compacts, running a special multi-class race featuring the A, B, and C cars all on the track at the same time, running three races within one. Adam Krzykowski would win a hotly contested A Division, overcoming John Eastman Sr., Nicholas Murdock, Damian Watters, and Zane Cruz. The B Division would see Jeff Asmus take his second victory of the season, holding off Dominick Salander, Adam Whitaker, Dan Hassard, and Abby Colb. Chad Baker would claim his first win of the season in the C Class, besting former track champion Josh Shiver, Bobby Prather, and Maddy Orta. Eastman was tops in qualifying with a 17.761.



bottom of page