top of page

Record Car Count On Hand for Michigan Cup 2020

Springport, MI (Tuesday, October 13, 2020) - Nearly 260 cars were on the grounds for the 2020 edition of the annual Michigan Cup at Springport Mid-Michigan Speedway for the three-day event. The first feature events were ran on Saturday night with the traveling stars of the MCR Dwarf Car Series and the Mini-Cup drivers on hand as well.

Eric Hoffman would take the win for the MCR Dwarf Car Series over Troy Hoffman, Justin Stambaugh, Logan Mears, and Mike McManman. Robert Ruttin would claim the win for the Mini-Cups over Tyler Minix, Bryce Trinklein, Dustin Olmstead, and Greg Stanley.

Sunday would be the day for feature events with 370 laps of racing scheduled to run. Gabe Carr would take the win in the Front Wheel Drive A Feature. The fast qualifier would start 17th on the grid and would work his way up through the field to challenge Todd Metz Jr. in an exciting duel for the victory. Metz had to settle for second over Ryan Hollister, Ben Wilcox, and Robert Siegel. John Felter and his Kia Soul would find themselves parked in victory lane at the conclusion of the B Feature. Duane Green, Brian Barden, Dillon Rose, and Sheldon Linglag would follow across the line. Jerry Pierman Sr. would claim his first win of the season in the FWD C Feature with a victory over Ed Clawson, Scott Monroe, Derrike Prater, and Jason Davis. Bryson Hosner won a closely contested D Feature over Gavin McGuffey with Terry Kline, Jacob Newman, and Colin Whitfield completing the top five. The E Feature was the final event of the weekend. Matt Elsey Jr. took the big win over Jason Stewart, Terry Hard, Tyler Rork, and Taz Weakley. 12 heat races were a part of the program for the FWD division. They were won by: Terry Hard, Matt Brauer, CJ French, Chaz Weage, Bryson Hosner, CJ LaMange, Scott Monroe, Dylan Spencer, Sheldon Lindlag, Triston Winter, Will Slaughter, and Dave Leonard Jr. Gabe Carr was fast qualifier with a 17.234.

The Rear-Wheel Drive A Feature would see Dylan Stovall survive an attrition filled race to take the win over Cole Allers, Mike Ammerman, Joey Barnhart, and Chris Garrett. The B feature would see a great drive from Street Stocks Track Champion Jerry Pierman to beat Kyle Santora to the line. Terry Humphreys, Jeremy Vanderhoof, and Steve Smith Jr. would follow them home to the finish. Zach Westdorp would lock down the C Feature over Andy Rutherford, Bobby Schisler, Pat Dent, and Adam VanAvery. Zane Bierman would win an adventurous D Feature. Bobby Bering Jr., Ian Jezylo, Dillon Zalenski, and Makenna Long would finish out the top five. Heat race wins were claimed by: Mark Palmer, Bobby Bering Jr., Pat Dent, Jesse VanAvery Jr., Rick Gokee Jr., Kyle Santora, Brock Ganus, Brent Drobny, and Cole Allers. Justin Dinzik was fast qualifier with a 15.772.

The Super Shoe division would be next up with the very fast and unique vehicles running 25 laps. Matt Sullivan would lead the field down for the initial start but it would be Doug Gallandt leading the opening handful of laps. But it was Andrew Brest who would not be denied. He took over on lap six and never looked back, locking down the win over Thomas Whitman, Gallandt, AJ Foote, and Sullivan. AJ Foote won the heat race, while Brest was fast qualifier with a 14.806.

Tom Rutherford would put on an impressive performance in the Modifieds powered by NOS Energy feature event. Rutherford started on the pole and would lead the opening 18 circuits before being overtaken by fast qualifier Jeff Ganus. Ganus would be on a rail as he cruised to victory in the 50 lap affair over Rutherford, Nick Lechota, AJ Foote, and John Gearhart. Jay Woolsey, Logan Parker, and Rutherford won the heat races. Jon McNett was the victory in the last chance race with Ganus setting fast time turning a 15.212.

Ganus would try to make it two straight feature wins in the Cereal City Auto Parts Outlaw Super Late Model feature. Rick Boal would lead the field down to the start but Zack Cook would launch from his second row starting spot to snatch the lead away. Cook would look like he was preparing to upset Ganus and take the win, but after leading 29 laps, Cook would be forced to retire from the event under a caution handing the lead over to Ganus who would close things out and claim his second straight win of the night. Mark Shook was second, Matt Frazier, Adam Terry, and John Gearhart would complete the top five. Heat race wins went to Boal and Adam Terry. Ganus set the mark in qualifying with 14.801.

In total, 221 cars checked into Springport Mid-Michigan Speedway for three days. Port Stocks led the way with 97 entries, while Rear-Wheel Drive ABC Stocks sported 74 cars. A competitive field of 29 Modifieds were also on hand for the weekend.

For more stories from around the region, be sure to log onto Listen to the Horsepower Happenings Podcast, with new episodes every Monday night at 9:00 pm.

Story - Chris Fobbe, Horsepower Happenings

Photo - Cally Jean Media



bottom of page