top of page

Schuerenberg, Markham, Weaver Win Attica Season Opener

Updated: Mar 22, 2021

Attica, OH (Saturday, March 20, 2021) - The season is now officially underway for Attica Raceway Park in Attica, Ohio. A race that typically serves as the 'break-in' event for many in the Great Lakes region saw over 70 cars on property with an early start time in order to beat the chilly March weather.

The 410 Sprint Car feature was the first on the track for the 2021 season with a full field of 24 cars battling on a dry and slick race track. After multiple attempts to get the race started and another quick yellow after the first lap was scored, an open red was cued up for teams to refuel. After that, yellows continued to plague the event when the leaders, on two occasions, spun off the top of turns three and four. That handed things over to a hard-charging Hunter Schuerenberg who held on the remainder of the way for the win. Zach Hampton finished in second, Ricky Peterson in third, Chris Andrews fourth, and Nate Dussel fifth.

In the DIRTcar UMP Late Models 20 cars lined-up for their first look at Attica Raceway Park. Ryan Markham and Colin Shipley took the field to the green flag for what was a mostly uneventful feature event. Markham never looked back, surviving just a few restarts. Shipley began to mount a challenge one time during the race, but his progress was halted by a caution flag. Rusty Schlenk would eventually get around his Domination Race Cars teammate, Shipley, but could not find the speed he needed to pass Markham. Schlenk held on to second, Shipley third, Casey Noonan fourth and Devin Shiels fifth.


Attica Raceway Park Results 03/20/21

410 Sprints

  1. #55 Hunter Schuerenberg

  2. #35H Zach Hampton

  3. #2 Ricky Peterson

  4. #23 Chris Andrews

  5. #1 Nate Dussel

  6. #22 Cole Duncan

  7. #16 DJ Foos

  8. #27S John Ivy

  9. #18 Cole Macedo

  10. #97 Gary Taylor

  11. #35 Stuart Brubaker

  12. #3C Cale Conley

  13. #4T Josh Turner

  14. #3J Trey Jacobs

  15. #98 Clinton Boyles

  16. #14 Chad Wilson

  17. #20B Cody Bova

  18. #18J RJ Jacobs

  19. #40I Mark Imler

  20. #12 Kyle Capodice

  21. #33W Caleb Griffith

  22. #71H Ryan Ruhl

  23. #16B Zane DeVault

  24. #7 Dylan Kingan

DIRTcar UMP Late Models

  1. #5M Ryan Markham

  2. #91 Rusty Schlenk

  3. #44 Colin Shipley

  4. #1N Casey Noonan

  5. #51 Devin Shiels

  6. #41 Mike Vandermark

  7. #27S Eric Spangler

  8. #36 Matt Irey

  9. #29 Nate Potts

  10. #X3 Dan Wallace

  11. #27W Eric Wilson

  12. #94 Mike Bores

  13. #59 Larry Bellman

  14. #50 Greg Gokey

  15. #B4 Rich Ruff

  16. #12 Bobby Michaels

  17. #101 Chester Fitch

  18. #77 Steven Pocock

  19. #16 Steve Sabo

  20. #69R Doug Baird

Story - Zach Hiser, Horsepower Happenings

Photo - Attica Raceway Park

bottom of page