top of page

Michigan Motorsports History Month: Joy Fair

One of the most legendary names on the east side of Michigan and in northern Ohio was Joy Fair. He made Flat Rock Speedway his own and took Toledo Speedway as collateral. The 1986 inductee into the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame retired from racing in 2000, 11 years before his passing in December of 2011. In April of 2020, Flat Rock and Toledo Speedways revisited the history and legend of Joy Fair.


The Pontiac, MI native began his racing career in 1949 and won over 700 races in 12 states and Canada.  Fair is the all-time win leader in the Late Model division at both Flat Rock (159) and Toledo (97), capturing 10 track championships at Flat Rock, 7 at Toledo and 7 at Mt. Clemens during his outstanding career. 

Fair captured 6 consecutive titles at Toledo from 1967-1972, and was on his way to a 7th crown until he was injured in a crash in 1973.  Joy and car owners Bob Gillelan and Russ Wainscott put Joe Ruttman in the car for the remainder of the season, winning many season-ending events with Ruttman at the wheel.  Fair came back in 1974 to win the Toledo title once again.

While he was one of the toughest competitors on the track, Joy was a good friend to his fellow drivers throughout his entire career.  Fair’s number 1 was officially retired from ARCA Late Model Racing in 1999 during a ceremony at Toledo’s Glass City 200 race, which was won by Fair in its first year-1968.

Fair was inducted into the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1986.  Joy passed away in 2011 at the age of 81.

Bio - Flat Rock/Toledo Speedway



bottom of page